The National Certificate: Vocational or NCV is an alternative option to a Matric certificate. It is equivalent to a matric certificate but you develop practical skills and knowledge of the workplace.

Once you have completed your National Certificate Vocational you can look for a job or apply to a university or college to do a;

  • Higher Certificate programme at NQF level 5
  • National Diploma at NQF level 6
  • Bachelor’s Degree at level 7

How long do you have to study?

To get the Matric equivalent certificate you will have to complete 3 years full-time and get your NCV4 certificate. There are 3 NCV levels and each level takes 1 year to complete. You will receive a certificate after every level.

What can you study?

NCV subjects are offered in a wide range of fields;

  • Civil Engineering and Building Construction
  • Drawing Office Practice
  • Education and Development
  • Electrical Infrastructure Construction
  • Engineering and Related Design
  • Finance, Economics and Accounting
  • Hospitality
  • Information Technology and Computer Science
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • Mechatronics
  • Office Administration
  • Primary Agriculture
  • Primary Health
  • Process Instrumentation
  • Process Plant Operations
  • Safety in Society
  • Tourism
  • Transport and Logistics

You will need to take 7 subjects every level. 3 of those subjects are compulsory and include Math or Math Literacy, Life Orientation and a Language such as English. The other 4 subjects are compulsory subjects that relate to your field of study.

What are the admission requirements?

You need to have a Grade 9. Some programmes do require a higher grade. Check with the college’s Admissions Office.

Where can you complete a National Certificate Vocational?

At a TVET college. Find your nearest TVET college here.

Completing a National Certificate: Vocational can help you find better opportunities and achieve your goals. It is a good alternative to a Matric certificate.