National Accredited Technical Education Diplomas (NATED) are qualification programmes offered by TVET colleges. This qualification gives you the practical skills and the theory needed to go into the job market as a skilled worker and is nationally recognised by employers and higher education institutions.

NATED programmes are split into 2 levels;

  1. N1 to N3 programmes are very limited and mostly focus on careers in engineering, manufacturing, construction and other artisan courses
  2. N4 to N6 programmes offer a wider range of programmes that include;

  • Art and Design
  • Business Management
  • Clothing Production
  • Educare
  • Engineering Studies
  • Farming Management
  • Fertiliser Manufacturing
  • Financial Management
  • Food Services
  • Haircare
  • Hospitality and Catering Services
  • Human Resource Management
  • Interior Decorating
  • Legal Secretary
  • Management Assistant
  • Marketing Management
  • Medical Secretary
  • Popular Music: Composition
  • Popular Music: Performance
  • Popular Music: Studio Work
  • Public Management
  • Public Relations
  • Textiles
  • Tourism

Not all colleges offer all the programmes, please check with every institution.

What are the admission requirements?

  • Grade 9 to enter at N1 depending on the college, some programmes require specific subjects
  • Grade 12 to enter at N4

How much time does it take?

It depends on the programme. Each N level takes 3 to 6 months. To get the National Diploma you will also have to complete 18 to 24 months required work experience and/or coursework.

What qualification will you have?

  • If you complete your N3 plus 2 languages you will have the equivalent to a Matric certificate at NQF Level 4
  • If you complete your N6 you will have a National N Certificate at NQF Level 5
  • If you complete your N6 plus 18 months work experience you will have a National Diploma

Once you have completed your course you will be able to apply for work or go on to study further at a higher education institution. With a National Diploma, you can enrol to complete a Bachelor’s Degree at a university depending on your marks.

Will the college help you find the 18 months required work experience?

Colleges will try to assist you to find an opportunity to complete your 18 months work experience, however, it is not a guarantee. Speak to your Programme Advisor to find out how the college can assist you. You can also find your own opportunities. Learn more about how to find a job or work experience opportunity here

NATED programmes are practical and can help you develop occupational, job-related skills and knowledge that could help you succeed in achieving your career goals.